Hurricane Irene

I like to joke around on this blog. I rarely take many thing seriously when I submit my la night ramblings. With that being said, I would like to be a little serious for a moment.

The past few days we’ve been reminded just how tiny we are when it comes to the giant schemes of things. I’m speaking of course of the event of hurricane Irene. While my first response was to try to make fun of the disaster (I’m biting my lip hard) I realize that when it comes to nature that we really don’t stand a chance.

On the flip of that, disaster sometimes brings out the best in people. Neighbors helping strangers. Strangers helping fellow strangers. And why? Because it’s the right thing to do. We’re all on this planet together and most of the time we’re all we have. So the next time the big one hits remember that helping others is the greatest thing you could do. And believe me, what goes around comes around, but be selflish in your actions. Set an example. Be a hero. ecause helping someone board up a window and giving a few nails, a hammer, and some time does in fact make you a hero. You may not get the glory, but the person you helped will be forever thankful for your kind deed.

I sincerely hope that you and your loved ones are all safe and dry and that if you lost power (like I did for 18 hours) that it’s been restored and you were able to catch Beyonces big news. Apparently me and her are having a baby or something. Girl could have told me before she went all out with it on an awards show.

But I really hope you’re in good spirits and if God forbid you find yourself in a dire situation, please know it gets better. I promise you it does.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

