Usama Bin Laden and Why It’s OK to Be Thrilled About Someone’s Death

I don’t really know why I should have to talk about why it’s really, really, REALLY great that Usama Bin Laden is dead and was killed by American forces, other than to say that it is really, really, REALLY great that Usama Bin Laden is dead. I don’t know why I have to talk about how it’s OK that we went into Pakistan and took matters into our own hands because the government of Pakistan has been playing footsie with terror for far too long. I don’t know why I have to explain why it is fine to have people celebrating in the streets of America because of the death of a mass murderer who has impacted every American’s life.

But for whatever reason, I feel like I have too. Because if you go to any message board or social networking site you will find people who will say that celebrating his death is not a good thing. It’s good that he’s dead, they’ll say, but celebrating the death of an enemy is just as bad as celebrating the death of an innocent person. Martin Luther King Jr even said so, they’ll lament.

Well, in all respect to Martin Luther King Jr, I disagree. It seems perfectly reasonable, and warrented, to be thrilled with the news of Bin Laden’s death. Yet what I saw after this news was released was people saying things like “I hope all the trouble we’ve caused the world was worth it”. And this kind of statement really, for lack of a better phrase, pissed me off.

Look, I love peace. I love the idea of peace. I wish there was peace. I wish that there were no wars and everyone just got along. It seems like such a simple concept. But unfortunately these wishes will never be realized. We live in a world that can really suck. War is one of the things that really sucks about it. Death sucks. Having people you love die sucks. Seeing innocent people taking from life really sucks. But people who have caused the deaths of innocent people dying is pretty awesome.

Now, it doesn’t really go that way all the time. To be completely honest, the death of Saddam Hussein didn’t make me feel all that good. The guy was a horrible human being who was responsible for the deaths of hundreds of thousands of peopl so his death was well deserved. I was glad that he had to pay for his crimes against humanity, but I didn’t get jolly about the whole thing.

Of course, this could be because Saddam Hussein never harmed anyone I knew. Which in fairness, sounds kind of callus. But I guess when it comes down to it he didn’t directly affect me as much as Bin Laden did (I’m not going to go into the Iraq war, American foreign policy and the cost and all that) and this is why it makes me smile knowing that he’s dead.

Though it seems like being happy someone has been killed is wrong, in some situations it’s a completely justifiable feeling. This is one of those times. You don’t need to try to be this great person who has such a great heart that they can care for those who are trying to destroy you. Because that’s what Bin Laden and those who think like him want to do. It’s OK to hate evil people. No one will think less of you because of it. And if they do, well, they’re assholes.

So America, let’s be happy that we killed someone. Let’s be happy that we put two bullets into the head of someone who deserved even more pain and suffering than that. Let’s be happy that the world is now safer because of this sub-human’s death.  You’re not a bad person because of these positive feelings. You can leave your modern hippy mindset aside for the moment.

Leave a Reply

