Rebecca Black (and why people who threaten others online are cowards)

Since the sassy 13 year old, Rebecca Black, blessed my ears with her wonderful song Friday I have been pretty much wishing that everyday was friday. I kind of want to say that I hate the song, but I’d be lying if I said that. Mostly because this is exactly what a pop song should be. It’s been stuck in my head for days and I really don’t think it’s going to out stay it’s welcome. But I don’t want to talk about the song and how it sends a shiver up my leg. I want to talk about the incredibly mean comments that poor Miss Black has had to endure all because she was in a music video that is less than stellar.

I’ve written before about people who call from a private number just to harass others and how the people who do this are just cowards and all around awful people. I take the same stance when looking at the youtube videos and the blogs and comments that Rebecca Black has received. If you’re taking your time to say despicable things over the internet and from the comfort of your bedroom, you should probably be punched really hard in the kidney.

It’s so easy for people to say things when they know that there are no repercussions for saying them. It’s easy to hide behind a screen and it automatically makes you a douche bag when you do. I never really understood some of the vitriol that people are able to pump out of their mouths (and fingers). I just don’t get why something so insignificant like a song by a 13 year old girl could cause someone to sit down and tell people how they wish that the 13 year old girl would die. It makes no sense to me. Usually I would count the inability to make sense of something up to my dumbness, but when it comes to this that’s not the case. It just doesn’t make sense to behave in this manner.

Now, it’s kind of hypocritical of me to say that people who do something as insignificant as litter the internet with thoughtgarbage (it’s a word I just made up) should get punched in the kidney. But there is a difference. I’m not wishing for death on anyone, just a bruise and a second thought. And when I’m writing about people in a negative light I tend to do it in  a light-hearted manner. I’m not vicious about it (except for the kidney thing). These people are vicious. They seem like they really care about what they’re saying. They really care about this song and music video.  This, for some reason, has really affected them. Something I really can’t grasp.

So I guess the moral of all of this is that you should think twice before you say hurtful things about things that don’t really matter. If you don’t you may get punched in the kidney. Or no one will like you because you’re mean. Or even worse, that guy from the Rebecca Black music video (who apparently likes to party with really young girls) will find you and make you regret the day you were born. Don’t let his silly sway dancing fool you. He’s one tough mother fucker.

Leave a Reply

