Nothing To Write About (so let’s quickly talk about Japan)

I’m not sure why exactly, but it feels as if the creative side of my mind has decided to shut down as of late. To me this is a troubling thing and to you it’s probably not a matter of concern. But considering that I have a blog and I like to write I should probably just try to write and not bother with if it’s any good (when I have something to write about it’s never any good anyway).

The sad thing to me is that there is plenty of things I want to talk/write about. To be honest, I just don’t know what to say about them. It’s been a troubling time in the world (with the earthquakes and ensuing tsunami and nuclear catostrophe and muppet looking dictators killing his own people while wearing a dress) and I don’t have anything new to add to the conversation. It’s as if everything that could be said has been said. With that being said I’ll do my best to add something to everything.

I find it interesting that a few days after I wrote about how earth is equivalent to a woman on the rag, the world saw the horrific images of towns being destroyed in a matter of seconds. It looked like a scene from disaster flicks and it gave you the feeling of the world being on the brink of the end. Especially after we learned about the nuclear plants in Japan failing. It certainly is scary stuff. But ya know what? We’re still here. And we’re going to be for a long time.

If anything, seeing the destruction of Japanese cities made me feel even stronger in my belief that this world won’t end. We go through awful events and we always have. The main difference is that in the past you didn’t have footage of people dying in real time. We didn’t have the luxury to go online and google Japan earthquake. Now we do. We see everything and seeing things can really suck.

But there’s a plus side to seeing things, too. I don’t know about you, but watching cars been swept away in flood waters makes me sort of value life a little bit more. It makes me think that if the world can gobble me up just because it’s grumpy or some shit, I might as well go down smiling. And that’s hard to do. Because smiling can also really suck, especially when you think about all the people who can’t smile anymore. We can get caught up in things that don’t really matter. Or things that matter but won’t be solved by simply brooding.

I hope if anything good comes from this disaster it’s that we as people will start focusing on all those things that we sometimes forget about. Whether that means treating yourself to a good meal, telling someone you love them, or masturbating furiously (I feel like all of those things are tied together somehow). Unfortunately, I know that these thoughts of what really matters in life will fade. Sooner than later probably. We’ll all go back to the way we were and wait for another harrowing event to get us to remember it again. Soon we’ll all go back to skipping meals to get work done, or tell someone we love them but only out of habit, and our bodies will tell us to slow down a bit (we’ll respond to that by saying “no”). And life will go on like it always does.

Because that’s just the way things tend to go.

Leave a Reply

