February: 28 Days of Suck

I’d like to apologize to anyone who has a birthday during the month of February. I’m sorry that you had to be been in such an unappealing and uneventful month full of only dreary weather and sadness. It must be awful to be associated with things like that.

I’d also like to apologize to people with heart conditions and also people who are African-Americans. I’m sorry you got stuck with this month.

Now that the Super Bowl is over, there is nothing to look forward to in this awful month. We’ve already passed two of the two of the three best offering of the month (National Freedom Day* which is observed on the 1st, and the Super Bowl which was played today which is the sixth). This makes me think that this month will simply drag on full of only cold and greyness. Sure, we might get some more winter weather which can be kind of nice at first, but even that eventually sucks. It goes from beutiful white, pure snow to grey dirty snow. And getting to work sucks when it snows. The roads are bad but I still have to go. It’s just a bad time.

Now, I know what you’re thinking. “But Keith, the 8th of February is Boy Scout Day.” Yes, that day is surely a great day, but it’s just not the same now that I’m an adult. I was never a boy scout, but I was always envious of their quiet American calm and their ability to use a knife properly.

Some people will do things on Valentine’s Day**, but not me. I mean, I’m sure I’ll do something, but sitting in my room nude while reading The Great Gatsby doesn’t really sound all that notable.

Being the optomist (ha!) that I am, I try to see the glass as half full. But to be honest with you, February doesn’t offer all that much hope. I guess we can be hopeful that March*** will come around quick. but that doesn’t really involve February. We only have 21 more days till the first of March shows it’s peachy face and I feel compelled to write about how March is just an awful month.

I guess we can be thankful that 2011 isn’t a leap year. Something I still don’t really understand.

*I don’t know what National Freedom Day is. I just saw that it’s apparently a holiday when researching (yes, I do research for this blog) this subject.

**As of right now I do not have a valentine. For any ladies reading, I’m quite the fan of cheap wine and Micky Mantle memorabilia. So I’m quite the catch. That’s what my mom says anyway.

***March is awful, too, but it does give way to Spring which is nice. With that being said, it’s still only slightly better than February.

Leave a Reply

