What “It” Is

Being that I am involved in the “art” community, I have had encounters with various people within the walls of this sophisticated gathering. These people range from being down to earth to overly eccentric. From completely distant to disgustingly self-involved.

One thing that is apparent when you find yourself among people who are into the fine arts is that everyone tends to get it. If you play your hand right they’ll think that you get it, too. They’ll probably even say something along the lines of “you get it”. And you’ll nod and smile because it feels good to feel like you belong somewhere. But behind your bobbing head and flashing teeth you’ll be confused as hell. Because while you seem to get it, you have no clue what it is.

I’ve come to the conclusion that the it that these people speak of is simply a way to feel a bit better than everyone else. Kind of like they’re in on a secret that the rest of the world simply can’t comprehend. If you try to get in on the forbidden knowledge that is held within the confines of this group, they’ll laugh. You can’t get it, they’ll say. You won’t ever get it unless (and until) they say that you do. It’s an exclusive club and not many people fit the mold that has been set for entry.

I would like to point out that I’m slightly a hypocrite when it comes to this topic. Being that I am a part of this group (sort of by choice and definately by chance) I shouldn’t be mocking it. Afterall, these are my people. I don’t know why they’re my people, but they are.

But while being a hypocrite I am also a fraud. No matter how many times people will tell me, the truth is I don’t get it. I just do things because, well, I just do. There’s no real though behind it. It just is. So maybe that’s all that it really is. Just doing what comes naturally. If that’s the case then I don’t see what’s so special about having it. Everyone has it. And if everyone has it than it must not be all that noteworthy.

So when discussing what this magical it is, it’s safe to say that it is simply what it is. And it’s always going to be there even if it’s only backed by these vague ideas that don’t have that much rhyme or reason.

Leave a Reply

