Done With Writing About Christmas (but since it’s Christmas Eve..”

Merry Christmas to my fellow humans living in countries to the east of me. I hope it’s been a good one.

So while I was with a friend getting coffee, we started to discuss how some people get up in arms over the phrase merry Christmas. They’ll go out of their way to tell you that they’re not Christian, or that they don’t believe in God. And this leads me to thinksomething that I’ve long suspected: People suck.

I don’t understand why people feel the need to say things like that. If someone were to come up to me and wish me something that is nice, I wouldn’t come back at them with a snide remark. There’s no reason to. The intent of wishing someone a merry Christmas is always good. People aren’t trying to force religion on you. They’re just saying they hope you have a happy day. The day happens to be a staple for a religion, but so what? Just take the intent of it. Don’t take the religious aspect of it. When I say this to people I don’t say it because I want them to convert. I say it because it’s a nice thing to say.

So, if someone wishes you a merry Christmas, or for you to have a good whatever-religious-holiday it is, just take it as someone being nice to you and wishing you have a good day. That’s it. Smile, say you too, and move along. No reason to be a dick about it.

Leave a Reply

