Same Sex Marriage and Why I have No Problem with It

Before I begin my statement/opinion on the subject, we’re going to have a very quick English lesson that uses some big words (or word) that some people probably have never heard of. So let’s begin phase one of this little adventure.

Etymology. That’s the big word I spoke of before. All this word means is ‘the study of words’. Which is really simple when you think about it since everyone is studying something whether it be words (etymology), cats (felinology), or the study of monsters (teratology). OK? Good.

So anyway, what those fine etymologists have discovered is that words are dynamic rather than stagnant. Meaning, words can change over time. Take for instance the word ‘fat’ for starters. Fat’s primary definition is having too much flabby tissue; corpulent; obese. OK. So now we know what the word fat means. Or do we? Beneath that definition we all know lies 28 other definitions. That’s right. A three letter word has 29 definitions. It is so vast that it even changes it’s function. Rather than just being an adjective used to describe something, it can be used as a noun as well as a verb and an idiom. Quite a lot of knowledge to take in for one tiny word (get it?).

My argument has nothing to do with the many uses of fat though. It’s just there to serve as an example that words over time change, and often an change quite drastically.

Which brings me to marriage. If we look up the term marriage we’ll find this, word for word, as it’s first definition:

–noun 1. a. the social institution under which a man and woman establish their decision to live as husband and wife by legal commitments, religious ceremonies, etc. b. a similar institution involving partners of the same gender: gay marriage.

Wait a second. That just doesn’t seem right. Afterall, isn’t marriage only between a man and a woman? Well, according to part B of the definition, the answer is no. Throughout time the word has changed to fit the current situation that we live in. And this isn’t some breathtaken event. In fact, it happens quite often, especially following the technological boom. No longer are cookies simply delicious treats. No longer are files things to put paper in. As time has gone on, we’ve had to adapt. And as we adapt our language adapts. Which is exactly why language isn’t some dead institution. Quite the opposite. Language is a living mechanism and we are reminded of it every day, though some like to dismiss it.

Another typical argument that is made to stifle those people who are championing equal rights for homosexuals is that it’s just not right. Biologicaly it simply doesn’t work. To this point, I do admit they have a point. After all, two men cannot have children. Two women cannot bear the others seed. It simply doesn’t work like that.

But who cares?

There are many, many, many heterosexual couples whoare married and are perfectably capable of having children and choose not to. Should we look down on them because they don’t want to raise a child? Regardless of their reasoning, it’s their right to abstain from being part of child rearing. But seldom do we look down on their choice.

Why we look down on same sex couples because the biology doesn’t work simply baffles me when we have couples who have all the working parts to have children and we just keep our mouths shut. It’s their choice. Just like it’s a homosexual couples choice to be wed. It simply does nothing to me when I see a same sex couple holding hands down the street.

I suppose this could be due to the fact I have been raised in an age where tolerance is every other word. And while I think we sometimes end up tolerating the wrong things, same sex couples are not one of them. Let people be who they are. Let them love. I may not understand what it feels like to be a gay person, but I am quite aware of what it means to be in love. And in the end, love should trump all.

Marriage is a word. Let everyone of legal age and principle take part. It sure makes a lot more sense than rallying against a human emotion that people can’t control.

*For the record, I am not gay and have never had any doubts concerning my sexuality. In fact, to be truthful, I don’t have many gay friends. It has nothing to with their life style, it’s just how things turned out. If I were gay, however, I would hope I would be allowed the same liberties of any other heterosexual couple.

4 Responses to “Same Sex Marriage and Why I have No Problem with It”

  1. Penny Quinton Says:

    I’m sure you probably didn’t think i would look at this blog when you gave it to me on the train, but I enjoy reading people’s opinions. I like your postings and i surprisingly agree with many of them. I have had many discussions with people over gay rights, and i have never heard someone talking about how the words change over time. It was a good point. I also like the humor you use in some of your other postings.

    • keithradzion Says:

      To be quite honest, I didn’t think you would read it. I had hopes since you seemed to have an honest face and laughed at my comments to our fellow passengers, but I still wasn’t sure. But I’m glad you did read it. For that I thank you.

      You said you were a liberal, but it seems we have a lot more in common than you thought we did. Which I think is great. Afterall, I tend to think people are all pretty similar. Well, minus those other fine gals sitting adjacent to me.

      And btw, I’m a big fan of the name Penny. So keep that up.

  2. the other white girl on the train last night Says:

    I quite enjoyed this. …had to check out the blog from that wonky character from the train. I’ll be sure to spread the word 😉 keep writing! I have faith your writing career.

    Cheers!

    • keithradzion Says:

      I’m glad you quite enjoyed it. And I also think you are the first person to call me a wonky character (I’m going to take that in a positive light). It would be great if you could spread the word. I don’t need a big following, but it’s nice to know that people read, so thank you very much. And I certainly will keep writing. And I’m glad one of us has faith in my writing career.

Leave a Reply

