The Muppet Helen Thomas and Random Grumblings on Censorship

Helen Thomas apparently isn’t very fond of Israel. You know what? That’s ok with me.

Ok, let me back track a little bit. Helen Thomas, the dinosaur of the White House Press Corps, was recently recorded saying how the people of Israel should go back where they came from. You know, Poland and Germany. That they are occupiers and are basically holding Palestinians hostage.

I would show you the up close and personal footage, but honestly it’s what I imagine was inside the arc of the covenant and I’m kind of amazed I can still see.

Anyway, I really, really disagree with Muppet Thomas. I kind of wonder why two people can’t just live in peace and be ok with each other, but I understand that humanity is pretty much awful and such a simple concept is unattainable. Still, I think that she has every right to say what she said. I don’t think she should apologize. She meant what she said.

Of course, she issued an apology and it just comes off as disingenous. I’d much rather her stand by her words. Just because she said something that I disagree with, something hateful, and something just dumb, doesn’t mean she should hide her words behind some thinly veiled apology.

We have a problem in this country with words. We say the wrong things and then state how we ‘didn’t mean them’ or they were ‘taken out of context’. I tend to think that when people say things off the cuff they are speaking from some sort of section of themselves that they believe in. That it’s not just words that happened to align themselves correctly.

I just wish people would star owning up to their words. If you believe something, then go with it, regardless of what others think. I like to think most people will be able to distinguish between what is good and what is bad.

And there I go contradicting myself. Humanity is damned but let’s trust it to humans. Bravo, Keith, bravo.

Leave a Reply

